Office inspired, Cosmo tested…Mango-Ginger Curry Soup

My immediate boss, K and I talk about food occasionally. Well maybe a lot. If you can’t tell by now, I love food and I love to talk about it. Anywho, I digress. One day K was talking about this soup she made that was so good that she couldn’t wait to eat it every day for lunch that week. She told me that it was a cold soup and that it was very easy to make. She couldn’t remember where she found the recipe for it, but she told me that it was a Mango-Ginger Curry Soup. After some stealth searching via google, I found the recipe on Self Magazine’s website.

I had the recipe for a while, but today for some reason, I was finally inspired to make it. Maybe it was the fact that the sun was out for the first time in two days? Who knows what goes through my mind sometimes….lol  So I made a quick run to the grocery store to pick up the main ingredients(I forgot to get coconut water so I had to improvise):

It was very simple. After the mangoes are peeled and cut into cubes, they go into a food processor(I didn’t have one, so I used a blender) along with all of the other ingredients except the cilantro and shrimp and then you blend to get a vibrant soup:

Here it is about to go into the refrigerator for an hour:

I added some cilantro on top before sticking it in the refrigerator. After an hour, I dipped a spoon to give it a taste…yummy! Here is the recipe and link if you are interested in making it yourself.

Mango-Ginger-Curry Soup With Shrimp

A bowl of this succulent soup can help you burn up to 30 percent more fat during a later workout, courtesy of the vitamin C in subtly sweet mangoes.

Serves 4

INGREDIENTS

  • 2 ripe mangoes (about 1 lb each), peeled and cubed
  • 1/2 cup chopped shallots
  • 1 large clove garlic, chopped
  • 1 teaspoon finely grated ginger
  • 1/2 teaspoon curry powder (or more to taste)
  • 1/2 teaspoon salt
  • 1 can (13.6 oz) light coconut milk
  • 1/2 cup coconut water
  • 3 1/2 tablespoons fresh lime juice (or more to taste)
  • 1 cup cooked, diced shrimp
  • 3 tablespoons chopped fresh cilantro

PREPARATION

  1. Pulse mangoes, shallots, garlic, ginger, curry powder and salt in a food processor (I used a blender) until pureed. Add coconut milk; pulse until well combined. Transfer mango mixture to a bowl; stir in coconut water(I used a little goya coconut juice) and lime juice. (Thin with tap water if desired.) Cover and chill until cold, 1 hour. Divide among 4 bowls; garnish with shrimp and cilantro before serving.

The skinny

239 calories per serving, 6 g fat (5 g saturated), 44 g carbs, 4 g fiber, 9 g protein

This entry was posted in cooking, do it yourself, happiness, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

