Cosmo resurfaces…again

The last post took a lot out of me. Enough where I needed to step back and regroup. Last Sunday’s service (Father’s day service) was quite moving. Pastor Bennett did an altar call first for all of the men in the church urging them to step up and to be strong. Then he did an altar call for all of the women asking all of us to forgive our fathers or other men that may have hurt us in the past. I think the sadness that I feel now towards my father’s death is all of the missed opportunity for bonding and getting to know him. Letting go of that dream definitely had been one of the hardest things that I have ever had to do. I think the altar call was good for me and a number of women there. It reminded me to live in the present and to let go of all regrets. I think one of my favorite quotes in regards to this comes from the character Katherine in the movie Under the Tuscan Sun: “Regrets are a waste of time. They’re  the past crippling you in the present” So after a reprieve, I am forging on determined not to dwell in the past anymore.

Later on Father’s day, I went for a hike up sleeping giant. It was about a 1.6 mile trek up there, not so bad, but the hills had me a little winded after. Here I am at the top (excuse the water on my shirt…lol):

The hike made me realize that I really need to step up my workout game. I am signed up for a 5K on July 9th and my goal is to run most of it. I am saving the goal of running the whole 5K for the Faxon Stratton on Labor day.  The rest of the week was a blur.  I had to travel to Simmons college for a work related conference. Overall, a long but lovely week.

This entry was posted in being present, empowerment, exercise, love and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

