Sushi, a love song

I know I talk about food a lot, but I can’t help it. I really love it. My love affair with sushi started at 21. My then boyfriend who was much older and worldlier than me (I was dating a guy 8 years older than me) and scoffed at the very idea that I never had sushi. He immediately set out to educate me in all things sushi. Although that relationship between him and I didn’t last, my relationship with sushi has grown from strength to strength.

How do I love thee (Sushi) by Elizabeth Barrett Browning Cosmo

How do I love thee Sushi? Let me count the ways.

I love thee to the depth and breadth and height

My soul can reach, when feeling out of sight

For the ends of being and ideal grace.

I love thee to the level of every day’s

Most quiet need(especially when I crave you), by sun and candle-light.

I love thee freely(well as freely as one can love an inanimate object), as men strive for right.

I love thee purely, as they turn from praise.

I love thee with the passion put to use

In my old griefs, and with my childhood’s faith.

I love thee with a love I seemed to lose

With my lost saints. I love thee with the breath,

Smiles, tears, of all my life; and, if God choose,

I shall but love thee all the better after death after I am able to eat you again.

Sad right? I know…don’t judge Sushi and I’s relationship…lol

Now that I am back in CT, I regularly get my sushi fix from Sushi X. Sushi X is this all you can eat sushi restaurant that has very good rolls. I am not saying that sushi X is by all means the best sushi I ever had (definitely a la carte places are better), but the rolls are satisfying and the seaweed salad is superb. Every time I go there I get the following items: vegetable rolls, korean beef short ribs,spider roll, red clam sashimi, and seaweed salad. Yummy. Here’s a pic of my latest spider roll and red clam sashimi….:)

Any other sushi lovers out there? If so, what’s your favorite roll?

 

This entry was posted in fish dish, food, happiness, restaurant reviews and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

5 Responses to Sushi, a love song

  1. Denise says:

    Uni…….yum!!!!

  2. michael twitty says:

    My favorite….Red clam and octopus sashimi!! I have to admit, that I will go to Pacific buffet at lunch and load my take out with sushi/sashimi and some rolls….then close the lid, take it to the cashier….and pay about $7…….with about $80 worth of food!!! As you said it is not the best, but for $7 I can do this……

  3. michael twitty says:

    BTW I love your “love song”

  4. michael says:

    My favorite…has to be the spicy tuna of course with a lathering of wasabi and soy ohhh how I love thee, I am sad to say that I share my heart and taste buds to a greater extent with the red clam and my tentacled friend the octopus sashimi…I can never get enough!!

Leave a Reply

