Another rainy day……

It has been raining in New Haven for the past four days. At one point, it looked like the sun going to come out for a while, but it was quickly beat down by the clouds. It is extended gloomy days like this that I wonder if I have S.A.D. or seasonal affective disorder. I know I was miserable in the winter because the lack of sun and this week is definitely not helping. I know rain is important for plants to grow and it helps to cleanse the land, but too much of it can get tiring. I don’t know about you, but this weather makes me wish I could just stay in bed in my sweats (yes, it’s still cold here) watching t.v.  There is nothing like a great sappy movie to help you feel better. After all, isn’t crying a natural way to cleanse the soul?

My top 5 sappy movies (guaranteed to get me to cry at some point):

1. When Peggy Sue got married

2. The Color Purple

3. Steel Magnolias

4. The Five people you meet in Heaven

5. Stepmom

Don’t judge me…lol

But also I try to visualize what it was like when the sun was shining bright in New Haven and all of the wonderful things that come along with it:

Seeing beautiful flowers in bloom against the backdrop of a clear blue sky. Walking around the neighborhood or running to Nica’s Market for a tasty Panini with grilled chicken, greens tomato, mozzarella and balsamic vinaigrette :

Eating the sandwich outside at one of the little wrought iron tables found directly in front of the market and people watching. You can see some interesting characters in East Rock. Overall, just the carefree pace of a sunny day. Oh sun, oh sun, please come back to us soon! The people of New Haven miss you very much! Well, at least I do:)

This entry was posted in being present, food, giving thanks, happiness, journey and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

