Surprise! Vegan Strawberry Cupcakes

For our final church leadership class tonight, everyone agreed to bring in something to eat. I thought it would be cool to sneak in a healthier option. I was looking through some of my favorite blogs and I stumbled across a blog entry in Hitting my stride where the blogger Desiree talks about making cupcakes for her vegan friend.  Hers looked great, so I followed the link she had to the recipe and decided to make them for my fellow classmates. They are relatively simple and very tasty! I also looked up a recipe for some vegan butter cream icing and made this as well.

What I liked about this recipe is that the strawberry puree gives the cupcakes such a rich pink color. Try to get the freshest and sweetest strawberries you can find, because it will cut down on the amount of sugar that you need.

strawberries about to be blended for the batter

cupcake batter


Cupcakes right out of the oven

I was so happy how the frosting turned out

Single cupcake, with the freshly made butter cream frosting:)

The recipe made about 16 cupcakes.

The cupcake is deelish! See how the strawberries give it such color!

I guarantee you will fool anyone into thinking that these are normal cupcakes. When I told them that they were vegan, they were amazed! I don’t understand why people think that vegetarian or vegan options can’t be decadent. I am glad they were extremely popular with my class. I definitely will be making these again soon:)

Here are the links to the sites for the cupcakes and the frosting.




					
This entry was posted in cooking, cupcakes, food, let them eat cake, martha stewart eat your heart out, vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Surprise! Vegan Strawberry Cupcakes

  1. Pingback: Cosmo does Tuscan (or a variation of it…lol) | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

