Forging a new frontier with the help of the “Pioneer Woman”

4:00pm. It was the last hour of the workday on Friday. I don’t know about you, but I like to use that time to wrap up last minute office items and then cruise the web. I was looking for a tasty dish to try when I stumbled on the Pioneer Woman’s website. If you ever have some time, I definitely recommend you visit, because it is filled with wonderful, simple recipes. I was inspired when I saw her recipe for “shrimp pasta in a foil package” for several reasons: 1. I already had most of the ingredients at home, 2. It called for wine(and who doesn’t like a recipe with wine?), 3. It called for garlic. I am a garlic lover! Though it’s not necessarily great for the breath, its great for the metabolism, can help you heal, and more importantly….its down right yummy! So, I decided that this was the dish for me so I gathered all of the ingredients and prepared it on Sunday.  So what do you think?

 The combination of reisling, garlic, tomato, parsley, and chili flakes worked wonderful together. My mouth was literally watering as I took it out of the oven. I highly recommend! Two thumbs up! In addition, if you feel that you are culinary challenged, it is a VERY easy thing to whip up!

Here’s the recipe, with my changes in the red. You can also go to this link here if you want to see more pictures of the dish and how it looks as you are preparing it. Enjoy!

Recipe: Shrimp Pasta in a Foil Package

 | 

 Ingredients
  • ½ cups Olive Oil
  • 4 cloves Garlic, Minced
  • 3 whole 14.5 Ounce Cans Diced (or Whole) Tomatoes (I used fire roasted diced tomatoes with garlic..yum!)
  • ½ cups White Wine (I am partial to sweet wines, so I picked up a Robert Mondavi reisling)
  • 2 pounds Jumbo Or Large Shrimp, Peeled And Deveined
  • Salt And Pepper, to taste
  • Fresh Parsley, Minced
  • 1 pound Linguine, Uncooked
  • Red Pepper Flakes, to taste
  • I cut the recipe in half, because it was only me 🙂

Preparation Instructions

Cook pasta for 1/2 the recommended cooking time. Pasta should still be very firm.

In a large skillet or pot, heat olive oil over medium heat. Add garlic and saute for a minute. Dump in the tomatoes and wine. Stir the mixture together, season with salt and pepper, and allow to cook for ten minutes.

Meanwhile, prepare a large parcel of heavy duty aluminum foil. It should be large enough to hold the entire pasta dish.

Throw the shrimp on the top of the pasta sauce. Throw the drained pasta over the top, then pour the whole dish onto the foil. Tightly wrap the foil into a parcel.

Bake at 350 degrees for 15 minutes. Remove from oven and keep warm until serving.

Open the foil parcel right before serving. Drizzle a tiny bit of olive oil over the top. Squeeze on lemon juice, if desired.

This entry was posted in cooking, do it yourself, food, happiness, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Forging a new frontier with the help of the “Pioneer Woman”

  1. lalfarog says:

    I love Pioneer Woman! She has a lot of awesome recipes!

Leave a Reply

