Roasted Spaghetti Squash with sauteed vegetables

I bought a spaghetti squash at Stop N Shop because it looked pretty. For no other reason. I figured I should eat it at some point, you know before it went bad, so I scoured the web for a good recipe. My search came to an end kinda quickly when I saw this recipe on allrecipes.com for Spaghetti Squash I. I know, not a very creative title, so I jazzed it up a bit. I don’t think you would have read this entry if I would have titled it “Spaghetti Squash I”.

Anywho, the recipe seemed pretty simple, cut and roast the spaghetti squash and saute veggies that you like and then combine. I opted not to use the feta cheese as I am trying to be pseudo vegan at the moment. But I think the feta would definitely enhance the dish and give it more texture and depth. I also opted out of using the olives, because I detest olives.  I paired it with a tossed salad that had sprouts, red pepper , and tomatoes in it. Here it goes:

Ingredients

  • 1 spaghetti squash, halved lengthwise and seeded
  • 2 tablespoons vegetable oil (I used extra virgin olive oil)
  • 1 onion, chopped (I used a red onion, but it is your pref)
  • 1 clove garlic, minced (I used 4 cloves because I love garlic)
  • 1 1/2 cups chopped tomatoes
  • 3/4 cup crumbled feta cheese (I opted out, I used some balsamic vinegar instead to give it some more flavor..about two tablespoons)
  • 3 tablespoons sliced black olives (I chopped up some zucchini and used that instead)
  • 2 tablespoons chopped fresh basil (I forgot to add this, but it still tasted yummy. I did add a dash of coarse sea salt to the vegetables as they were cooking however)

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees F (175 degrees C). Lightly grease a baking sheet.
  2. Place spaghetti squash cut sides down on the prepared baking sheet, and bake 30 minutes in the preheated oven, or until a sharp knife can be inserted with only a little resistance. Remove squash from oven, and set aside to cool enough to be easily handled.
  3. Meanwhile, heat oil in a skillet over medium heat. Saute onion in oil until tender. Add garlic, and saute for 2 to 3 minutes. Stir in the tomatoes, and cook only until tomatoes are warm.
  4. Use a large spoon to scoop the stringy pulp from the squash, and place in a medium bowl. Toss with the sautéed vegetables, feta cheese, olives, and basil. Serve warm.

If you are not vegetarian, I think this would make a good side alternative to mashed potatoes or sweet potatoes. It has the same consistency. Overall, I found it simple yet very good. I think you can add a variety of things to the squash and come up with many yummy variations. Do you like spaghetti squash and if so, how do you like to eat it?

This entry was posted in cooking, do it yourself, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

