Food sorting and then Black Bean and Toasted Corn Tacos

Saturdays are usually days where I try to sleep in but my body, which is now so accustomed to rising early, won’t let me.  Saturday was an even earlier morning because I had to be at the Connecticut Food bank by 9am to help out with a 3 hour food sort. Going to the Food bank always reminds me of how blessed I am. It is so sad to realize that even in one of the most wealthiest states in America, people are struggling to feed themselves and their families. Everyday tons of non profits and churches come to the food bank to get food for their constituents to help alleviate some of their hunger issues. When the food is properly sorted, it helps these institutions to be able to shop more effectively and to get the things that are truly needed. This is important, because each non-profit only has 30 minutes to shop for their organization. I would truly recommend volunteering at your local food bank in some sort of way. It is a great way to give back to people and organizations in your community.

Doing all of that sorting and lifting made me really hungry, so I came home and prepared  some black bean and toasted corn tacos that I saw in a vegetarian times magazine. They were yummy and filling! I didn’t even miss the meat. The best thing is that you can customize them to the spicy level that you want. I jazzed up the recipe by adding some sriracha(chili) sauce and some chili pepper. I think I might have made them too hot because my nose started to run…lol  Here they are:


Click on the link above for the recipe. I didn’t deviate from it. The only thing I didn’t use was the spinach(because I didn’t have any at home) and I added the sriracha sauce to the beans as they were cooking.  Overall, two thumbs up!

This entry was posted in cooking, food, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

