Soba noodles with stir fried bok choy, snow peas and scallions

With the advent of lent, I have decided to give up all meat (including fish) until Easter. I have done this before, so it isn’t nothing new. After all, our bodies are temples of God and we should keep it in tip top condition. I am starting to believe that a diet that focuses more on fruits and vegetables and other unprocessed foods is the way to go. On Saturday, I planned my menu and then went to Whole Foods and Trader Joes and loaded up on a lot of vegetables, fruit and other things that I would need to get through the week. For some strange reason, I was craving soba noodles, so I prepared a quick dish throwing in some of my favorite vegetables. If you decide to make this, just use whatever vegetables intrigues you.

1 box soba noodles (I would take out a portion according to how much you want to eat. Since it was just me, I took out enough for 2 servings)

Shoyu (which is the real soy sauce, not what you get in the chinese take out..it is more expensive, but oh so worth it)

1 big handful of snow peas

4 scallions , chopped up

1 large piece of ginger, minced

4 cloves of garlic, minced

1 little bunch of baby bok choy 

1/4 teaspoon Garlic powder

Sesame Oil

In a frying pan I placed about 1 tablespoon of sesame oil with the chopped scallions. I let them sautee for about 3 minutes and then I added the garlic and ginger, make sure you stir the garlic and the ginger so it doesn’t burn. After 2 minutes, I added the bok choy and the snow peas and stirred them into the garlic ginger mixture. I also added a few dashes of the shoyu and cooked the vegetables until the bok choy leaves and stem had wilted.

At the same time that I was preparing the vegetables, I boiled the soba noodles according to the instructions on the box. Once they were done, I drained them and rinsed them with cold water to stop the cooking. Then I throwed the noodles into the pan and tossed them with the vegetables for about 3 minutes. Then I added two more dashes of shoyu and the garlic powder (it should be to your taste).

It was yummy!

This entry was posted in faith, food, health, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

