Slow cooked Breakfast?

It can be a hard thing in the morning to cram in breakfast, especially if you like to stay in bed until the last possible minute like me. I was cruising the internet a few weeks ago and I stumbled upon several slow cooker recipe sites. You see, I have had a slow cooker since my senior year of high school. It came with of one of the scholarships that I won (what can I say, I went to school in the country…lol). Anywho, it hasn’t been used as much as I wanted over the years, so I have been trying to find ways to incorporate it more. I never thought about using it for breakfast.

I love oatmeal—more specifically, I love Irish style steel-cut oatmeal, but it must be cooked for at least 20 minutes. And if you are like me, you don’t have that much time during the work week. I decided to see if I could follow the recipe found on the back of the oatmeal canister using my cooker ( I added my own touch with apples, cinnamon, and raisins):

Steel cut oatmeal with apples, cinnamon, and raisins.

2 cups of Rice or Almond Milk

2 cups of water

1 cup of steel-cut oatmeal

1/4 teaspoon of cinnamon

1 peeled apple, cut up into bite sized pieces

1/4 cup of raisins

Place all of the ingredients in the slow cooker and turn it on the lowest setting. Let it cook overnight. I started mine around 11pm and it was ready for me at 7am.  Yummy! This batch is enough to last the whole work week (but that will also depend on your serving portion). I always have a glass of my green juice before it (or during the course of the morning).

This entry was posted in cooking, food, health, juice, martha stewart eat your heart out, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Slow cooked Breakfast?

  1. liz says:

    thats a great idea!! i have a little baby crockpot that this would work perfectly for. I, too, like to stay in bed until the last minute (snooze button – agh!) and have been trying to find a way to eat a better breakfast. i will definitely will have to try this.

  2. Nicole says:

    Love you’re blog and I LOVE this idea! One question, how does it reheat during the week?

    • brandnewphd says:

      Thanks Nicole! I just put a portion of it into a bowl and then quickly nuke it in the microwave to my desired heat level. Or you could cook it on the stove, but I would add a little rice milk or water to it, so it won’t stick to the pan.

Leave a Reply

