Cosmo’s orzo with fire roasted tomatoes and spinach

After my midnight run to the grocery store (that was preceded by me locking my keys in my car while it was on….**shakes my head**) I decided that I shop way too much for someone who doesn’t have anyone else to feed on a regular basis. So my challenge is to make as many meals as I can from what I currently have in my house.  I want to see how long I can go without going to the store again. So my first attempt was tonight. Doesn’t that look tasty? While I was web surfing this weekend, I read about how you can cook orzo like risotto. So, I decided to try my own recipe (keep in mind my ingredients are approximate, since I was winging it…lol):

1 cup of orzo

1/4 cup of  red onion

1 can of fire roasted tomatoes

1/2 cup of frozen shrimp (chopped)–it was all I had in my house…lol

4 cloves of garlic minced

1/2 cup chicken broth

1/2 cup water

a dash of chili powder

a dash of chili pepper flakes

1 cup frozen spinach (it was originally fresh spinach that I got from edge of the woods , which is a health food market in New Haven)

1. In a warmed up skillet, I added a splash of olive oil and then threw in the minced garlic and onion. I let them cook for about 2 minutes, stirring them so my garlic didn’t burn.

2. Then I added the shrimp and the orzo and then quickly added the 1/2 cup chicken broth.

3. I stirred the orzo in the broth repetitively. It started to stick to the pan, so I added a 1/2 cup water and kept stirring. After  2 minutes, I added the can of fire roasted tomatoes. In addition, I sprinkled some red pepper flakes and a dash of chili powder

4. You will have to continuously stir the  orzo. I turned the pan down to low and then put a top on my pan and stirred every 2 min or so until the orzo was cooked.

YUMMY!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

What kind of DIY recipes do you have?

This entry was posted in cooking, do it yourself, food, italiano, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to Cosmo’s orzo with fire roasted tomatoes and spinach

  1. Jason says:

    I think I will try this recipe. One of my favorite recipes (to answer the question posed) is called New Orleans Style Chicken and it is delicious.

    http://www.tasteofhome.com/Recipes/New-Orleans-Style-Chicken

    6 ServingsPrep: 30 min. Cook: 50 min. Ingredients
    1-1/4 pounds boneless skinless chicken breasts, cubed
    3 teaspoons canola oil, divided
    2 medium carrots, chopped
    1 large onion, chopped
    1 medium green pepper, chopped
    1 medium sweet red pepper, chopped
    2 portobello mushrooms (3 ounces each), chopped
    3 garlic cloves, minced
    2-3/4 cups hot water
    1 can (15 ounces) black beans, rinsed and drained
    1 package (8 ounces) red beans and rice mix
    1 can (14-1/2 ounces) Hunt’s® Original Diced Tomatoes, drained
    1/3 cup shredded Asiago cheese
    Directions
    In a large nonstick skillet, brown chicken in 1 teaspoon oil over medium-high heat until no longer pink; remove and set aside. In the same skillet, saute the carrots, onion and peppers in remaining oil for 10 minutes. Add mushrooms and garlic; saute 1-2 minutes longer or until vegetables are tender.
    Stir in the water, beans and rice mix. Return chicken to the pan; bring to a boil. Reduce heat; cover and simmer for 30-35 minutes or until liquid is absorbed and rice is tender.
    Stir in tomatoes; heat through. Just before serving, sprinkle with cheese. Yield: 6 servings.

    Editor’s Note: This recipe was prepared with Zatarain’s New Orleans-style red beans and rice.

    Nutrition Facts: 1-1/3 cups equals 381 calories, 7 g fat (2 g saturated fat), 58 mg cholesterol, 891 mg sodium, 50 g carbohydrate, 9 g fiber, 30 g protein.

Leave a Reply

