Banana Republic—I “heart” you

I definitely view myself as a fashionista and a budgetista, etc. Since I have been focusing on getting out of debt, I have curtailed my spending and have been on a clothing fast. Meaning, I have decided to put off new clothing purchases until I really need them (not when I want them). Because I like love to shop, it has been difficult, but I have fought these urges by asking myself “Do you really need this?”  For the most part, I have been good. One way I have been able to do this has been to challenge myself to design new outfits from my preexisting wardrobe. It is fun to wake up every morning and think about how I can wear my buisness casual pieces differently. That is, until this past Friday. I have been looking for a dress that I can take from work to night, that was flattering and very low maintenance. I had been eyeing this black wrap dress from Banana Republic for the past several months when it finally went on sale. (Side note, I LOVE Banana Republic–it is definitely one of my top favorite stores.)

Yay! However, I was still able to talk myself out of it. Well, that is until Banana Republic personally emailed me to let me know that they were having a 40% off sale on their items that were already on sale (I know that they didn’t personally email me, but it makes me feel better to think so….lol). So I was able to score the dress for less than $50.00, including shipping to my house…double yay! And if I factor in the $26.00 that is coming back to me from a work reimbursement, then I only truly paid $24! So, that helped to make me feel better about breaking the fast. But, I think as long as I don’t go crazy , a treat here and there will keep me motivated and on track to getting out of debt.

This entry was posted in banana republic, fashion, getting out of debt, happiness, journey, trends and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

