My pantry and refrig—healthy updates

Over the past few months, I have been amazed how the contents of my pantry and refrigerator have changed.

1. My pantry:

Lately, I have been keeping, quinoa(if you haven’t tried it, I suggest you do!), brown rice, dried beans (red kidney and lentils (red and green)), rolled oats, panko crumbs, whole grain pasta, canned black beans, coconut milk, rice milk, almond milk, vegetable stock, bulgur wheat, and buckwheat flour.

All of these ingredients can be used to make yummy meals that are relatively cheap and easy to make. Along with healthy grains, it is important to have an arsenal of spices.

I inherited a lot of these from one of my ex’s (who says ex’s aren’t good for anything…lol) but, I have definitely added  many different spices to this batch. Some recent additions are smoked paprika, cardamom(thanks, M), and white pepper. Also, in front, there are a container of “if You care” muffin cups. They are the “green” option for baking. I made some 12 Grain 7 grain breakfast muffins this morning and used these. They are wonderful!

Moving on to the refrigerator, because I am juicing every other day(I make enough in one batch to last two days). Leafy veggies have overtaken my refrigerator. I am still making Dr. Oz’s juice and it is going well! In addition, I have switched out butter, for earth balance (the vegan option) and haven’t missed a beat. I am slowly, but surely getting a hang of eating better, and though I still have slip ups, I am perfectly fine. Besides, I do not believe you should give up everything you love, just because you are trying to eat healthy. If you eat healthy most of the time, an occasional treat(s) are ok.

This entry was posted in being present, detox, food, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

