7 Grain Breakfast muffins

Recently, Sunday has been the day that I use to prepare healthy meals for the week. I was looking for something to quickly grab as I was running out the house for work or something that could go along with my warm cereal(I will discuss in upcoming posts). This morning, I decided to make this recipe from vegan visitor. She calls them 12 grain muffins, but because I couldn’t find 12 grain cereal, they are now 7 grain muffins.  These were the fruits of my labor. They are yummy!

12 GRAIN 7 GRAIN BREAKFAST MUFFINS

3/4 Cup 12 Grain Cereal Mix I used Kashi’s 7 grain cereal
1/4 Cup Rolled Oats
1/2 Cup Dried Cranberries
1/4 Cup Broken Pecans
1/3 Cup Canola Oil
1 Cup Soy Milk I used rice milk
1/2 Cup Brown Sugar, Packed
1/2 teaspoon Salt
1/2 teaspoon Cinnamon
1 teaspoon Baking Powder
1 teaspoon Baking Soda
1 Cup Whole Wheat Flour
3 Tablespoons Orange Juice or 1 teaspoon of orange zest I used the orange zest

Prep muffin tins with a light spritz of spray oil. I used “if you care “muffin cups that I placed in my muffin tins.
In a large bowl, combine the sugar, cinnamon and salt. Add the cereal, oatmeal and stir in the milk and oil.
Allow everything to absorb and soften for 15 – 20 minutes. If you are hard pressed for time, you may skip this step.
Preheat the oven to 400ºF.
Add the baking powder and soda, then stir in the juice (or zest, if using).
Add the flour, combining only enough to moisten everything – try not to over work.
Spoon into prepared tins and bake 10 minutes for mini-muffins and 15 minutes for regular sized muffins or until golden and slightly crisp around the edges.

This entry was posted in cooking, food, health, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, vegan and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

