MLK weekend

The long weekend started off with this:

My soror N and I headed to Mezcal, which is a Mexican restaurant in my neighborhood, for food and drinks. The food was ok- I still prefer Guadelupe’s in fair haven to them, but the drinks were strong and the service was good. Right before we left, the owner asked us if we wanted to take a tequila shot and we said “Why not?”  I am used to taking shots with salt, but he had us take the shot with chili pepper. It definitely burned my throat going down, but it relieved all of the tension I felt from the work week.

Saturday was pretty low key—I had to go to MLK orientation and then I napped all day.  On Sunday I skipped church (gasp!) and headed down to the Bronx for my line sister’s baby shower with another one of my line sister’s. It was nice catching up with folks from college as well as just being able to support my sorority sister.

And of course, today was MLK day. Here in New Haven, the united way sponsors a city wide MLK conference that was co-chaired by my sorority sister S. Many people attended this fun event. Throughout the day there were workshops, entertainment, as well as free breakfast and lunch.  After I left the conference, I headed to the gym to workout and then came home to cook a tomato curry lentil stew that I found on allrecipes.com  It was YUMMY! See my recipe variations below:

Ingredients

  • 1/2 cup dry lentils
  • 1 cup water
  • 5 ounces stewed tomatoes(I used the whole can and chopped the tomato)
  • 1/8 cup chopped onion
  • 2 stalks celery, chopped, with leaves
  • 1/4 teaspoon curry powder (2x)
  • 3 cloves garlic, minced
  • salt to taste
  • ground black pepper to taste

Directions

  1. My first step was add a little canola oil and sautee the onions and garlic in the pan
  2. Combine lentils and water, bring to a boil (I used organic veggie broth instead of water).
  3. Lower heat to simmer, add tomatoes, onion, and celery. Cover and let simmer 45 minutes. Check every 15 minutes to stir, and add water if necessary. Add spices last 15 minutes to taste. Taste and re-spice if necessary before serving
This entry was posted in cooking, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, vegan, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

