Vegan Zucchini Bread

I am sure you are probably wondering about my sudden interest in vegan and vegetarian foods. They have always been a part of my life on and off–in fact, for lent last year I gave up meat. It was then that I realized that my body might actually prefer to be on a predominantly meat-less diet and since then, I have been exploring detoxes and different ways of eating. Recently, I read “The Kind Diet” by Alicia Silverstone and she explains easy ways to explore veganism without having to jump head first in. (According to her, I would be flirting with veganism).  In addition, she includes yummy recipes that are simple to make at home. I have several bookmarked that I plan to make in the upcoming weeks.

For all of my graduate school life and post life, I have had sinus issues. I think they have been brought on by numerous things, including my diet. I think that I haven’t been eating particularly healthy over the last few years. Not to say that I eat a lot of junk food either, but I think I am not eating enough greens and veggies at the correct level. When I did the meat fast last year, I realized that my body ran better with out it. I was in denial though because I love meat and dairy. Currently, I am trying to see if going without dairy will help control my mucus issues. My sistah friend K suggested I give it up for 3 to 6 months and see how I feel before committing forever. So, I am trying and I am currently one week dairy free. I won’t say totally meat free, because I had some oysters last sunday. However, L told me that I might want to give up meat as well because it causes the production of mucus also.

Anywho, I have been trying to expand my recipe base and I decided to try to make the vegan form of a Cosmo stable–Zucchini bread. As I was researching vegan recipes, I came across a blog called, Hell Yeah its vegan. There I found some wonderful recipes, including one for zucchini bread.  I followed it to a tee and this is what resulted:

I was very surprised that flaxseed meal can take the place of eggs. The bread came out great and I am so glad because this bread is one of my favorites and I would have been sad to give it up.

This entry was posted in book reviews, cooking, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, vegetarian and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

