There’s No Place like home

This past friday, I boarded a plane and headed to Richmond, Va. That is where home is now-I view home as wherever my mother is, since I am not married yet. Once I get married, home will be where me and my spouse make it. Anyway, I digress. It was wonderful to land in VA and be confronted with summer weather! I was able to put on some sandals and a sundress. It was so nice to see my mom and my sister-I hadn’t seen them in almost a year. Between all of our schedules and money issues, it has been hard to get down there.  Whenever I go south, I need to do two things: 1. get some rest 2. go to Bojangles. For any one that is not Southern, Bojangles is better than Popeye’s and KFC! IT IS YUMMY! My go to meal from there is the three-piece wing dinner with spicy fries….yum!

While I was there, I also was able to cook my mom one of my favorite scrambles with tomato, leeks, and mushrooms:

Cosmo’s Tomato, Leek, and Mushroom Scramble

You will need:

Cremini Mushrooms

On the Vine tomatoes (or whatever tomato you prefer)

Canola (or Olive oil)

Leeks

Three eggs

First cut up all of the ingredients. You will need to slice the white part of the leeks  and then soak them in water to remove the dirt.

You want to dice 1/2 of a tomato and cut up one or two mushrooms. Depending on your taste preference.

In a bowl, crack open three eggs. Only keep the egg yolk for one of them. Then add salt and pepper to your preference and then beat the eggs.

You then place enough oil to coat the frying pan over medium heat. Then add the leeks, tomatoes, and mushrooms. Cook them until the leeks are soft.  Then add the eggs and proceed to scramble them in the pan. Cook until the eggs are opaque. Add swiss or mozzarella cheese to the scramble and mix some more and then place on a plate. Serve with biscuits on the side and/or fruit.

This entry was posted in cooking, family, food and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to There’s No Place like home

  1. J says:

    Oh man… I do miss some Bojangles! That’s the reason I gained like 8 pounds living in NC (besides being lazy and semi-depressed, I suppose). My favs from there are Definitely the Fries and BoBerry Biscuits! mmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmmm!

Leave a Reply

