Detox, Day 2: New revelations

I woke up at 6am this morning and took a deep breath. Natalia recommends that you start the morning off with some movement, so I got up and turned on exercise tv and worked out for about 10minutes. Then I did the next thing she recommends–body brushing using a Yerba Prima Body brush (you can buy this at whole foods). You start from the tips of your toes and brush up towards your heart. I must say that it does feel invigorating. Then I got in the shower and then made the green lemonade. This time, with carrots added.  I started off with water and then drank the green lemonade and then drank some more water.

For lunch, I had a salad with some thin slices of steak and goat cheese and then later munched on raw broccoli. When I got home, I binged on some popcorn. I am not sure if I was supposed to eat that or not, but I have seen that it is allowable in other detox programs. Natalia didn’t mention popcorn at all, so I couldn’t go by her. For dinner, I finished the cilantro and garlic shrimp and ate a salad.

Today I realized that my life is being controlled by food. I fixate on it constantly, thinking about the next meal or snack. During breakfast time, I kept on thinking about lunch and was craving something solid. However, the juice made me feel great and I didn’t need caffeine. I think it is important for me to figure out what my body wants and I do not think that dietary changes will do it alone. I think I exercise needs to be emphasized more in my life and that I really need to start getting my body up and going. I think this process of finding out what is right for my body will be a matter of trial and error. But it will be my journey and I look forward to discovering what helps me to run at my most optimal.

What things are you doing to make sure you are performing at your best?

This entry was posted in do it yourself, empowerment, health, journey and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Detox, Day 2: New revelations

  1. jamijoy says:

    What a great book! I love Natalie’s Detox book. I am addicted to juicing and creating new and delish juices. I recommend adding beets to your juices, it really sweetens them up. I am looking forward to your detox updates. Its a tough thing to do but you feel so much better afterwards!

    To make sure I am performing my best, I have decided to get myself super organized not only with my with health but my finances and work. I feel like I am always on the go and running around and I seem to lose track of things. I want to start sticking to my plans and goals no matter what I am doing. I have started the P90X plan so I have a calender all set up for each month. Each day is labeled with the workout and yes/no for healthy eating.

  2. brandnewphd says:

    Thank you so much for your suggestion to use beets. I had no idea they could be sweet. Actually, I don’t think I have ever eaten a beet so I will definitely have to remedy that. That is great that you are getting organized and are starting the P90X plan! Best of luck! A lot of my friends have did this and have had great results:)

  3. Pingback: Oh baby, I like it raw…and vegan: Spring reboot kickoff | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

