That loving feeling can return….at UC Berkeley

After my sophomore year (in the summer of 2000), I headed out to Berkeley, CA to participate in a Summer Research Opportunities Program. The fellow participants and I ended up living in the International House and worked for various professors on campus. This was my first time on the west coast and I really enjoyed seeing the palm trees and the gorgeous views of the bay area. We took wonderful field trips to Monterrey and San Francisco and developed great friendships. In fact to this day, I still keep in close contact with D and B. Both guys mean a lot to me, and we have definitely grown over the years. Also that summer I met a guy named L. He wasn’t apart of the summer program, but he was friends with one of the participants. L and his friend J, helped us have an even better time in Berkeley. Both D and I think that was the best summer ever, and often reflect upon it. Anyway, I digress. I developed a huge crush on L that summer. There was this connection that happened between us that I can not explain. I didn’t tell him I liked him that summer, but man, what a great guy. The following spring, I flew out to San Francisco for a scientific conference and finally confessed my feelings for him. He felt the same way! However, nothing happened because we were on different coasts and both still in college. But we still kept in contact on and off all these years. L has constantly been a thought in my head and has always been that “what if” in the back of my head.

Flash forward 9 years to 2010. He came back in my life. We started communicating on a regular basis and ended up both realizing that we both still have feelings for each other. So we are going to ride this wave and see where it goes. I went to visit him last weekend and the sparks are definitely there. I can’t wait to see what the future may hold for us. I guess only time will tell.

This entry was posted in being present, happiness, journey, love and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

