For the love of V

Yesterday, my sister circle had a wonderful celebration for one of our own, V.  She is moving to Charlotte to enter a new phase in her life. We will all miss her and I have truly enjoyed getting to know her over the past few years. My sister circle is composed of older women (40-late 50’s–except for me, now 30) with diverse backgrounds and experiences. I truly appreciate being around them because they guide me in the most unexpected ways. Anyway, I digress. So we had a gathering for V over K’s house and ate wonderful food and celebrated V. We all had to bring a food item, so I decided to try out an Apple Rosemary Cornish Game Hen recipe that I got from a Healthy cooking class that Wendy Battles taught back in December 2006 at Yale. I decided to modify it a little and glazed a whole chicken versus the Cornish hens. I must say, it came out tasty! Everyone who ate it agreed. Here’s Wendy’s recipe with my modifications:

Apple Rosemary Chicken

1 Whole Organic Chicken

2-3 apples, peeled and diced

1 cup cranberries (I used craisins)

1/2 cup apple juice or cider

1/2 cup maple syrup

2 twigs fresh rosemary, left whole

2 tablespoons curry powder

Seat salt and freshly cracked pepper

Preheat oven to 400 degrees.

To create the sauce, combine the apples,cranberries, maple syrup, apple juice, curry and rosemary twigs in a saucepan over medium-high heat. Stir frequently, blending all the ingredients and bring to a boil.

Decrease the heat to low, cover the saucepan and simmer, stirring frequently, until the apple pieces are very soft and the berries have broken open and released their juices, about 8-10 minutes.

To prepare the chicken: remove organs, rinse chicken, and then pat dry with paper towels. Sprinkle with salt and pepper. Place the chicken with rosemary twigs underneath, in a roasting plan. Cover chicken with sauce and also place some in the cavity generously.

Roast the Chicken until the juice run clean and the internal temp measures at 180°F. Time will vary based on weight. Baste chicken with juices as it is baking.

This entry was posted in cooking, do it yourself, friends, recipes and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to For the love of V

  1. J says:

    Wow! That looks FANTASTIC!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! I know it had to be tasty!

Leave a Reply

