A Kale Smoothie with Strawberries, Peaches and Blueberries

Every work day morning during the summer I love to make a smoothie for breakfast. It’s quick, yummy, and healthy. I have been trying to increase my leafy green vegetable intake for the past few weeks because I know I do not eat the recommended level that I should. One quick and easy way for me to do this was to add some to my smoothie. Depending on the leafy green that you add, you can get an interesting blend/taste when you combine it with fruit and yogurt.

Today I make a Red Kale Smoothie with strawberries, peaches and blueberries. I must say that it is very tasty. Here’s my recipe:

First, I started off with some red kale that I got from a farmers market. (you can use regular kale if you can’t find the red kale) I rinsed off and then took off all the leaves and placed them into the blender. Then I added approximately 1/2 cup of orange juice(you can add more or less to your taste). Then I turned on the blender and let it grind up the kale into the juice and then I added approximately a 1/2 cup of nonfat plain yogurt. You want to try to use a plain yogurt that has a low sugar content. After that, I blended some more and then added strawberries, blueberries, and peaches. I buy them frozen from various grocery stores. Or you can buy fruit and cut them and freeze them too. You can use fresh fruit as well, I just like the extra cold boost that the frozen fruit gives. I would add as much fruit as you want to give it the sweetness that you need. For me, I only added a handful of the blueberries, about 6 strawberries and two slices of peaches. Finally, I added some flaxseed oil to the smoothie by puncturing a gel capsule and then turned on the blender again. I wanted the kale to be the star. I must say that it is quite yummy! I am drinking it as I am typing this entry.

Kale blended into the OJ

                                                                 

 

Not the prettiest, but it sure tastes good!

This entry was posted in do it yourself, health, smoothies and tagged , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to A Kale Smoothie with Strawberries, Peaches and Blueberries

  1. J says:

    Yum! I will have to try that! Thanks for the tip and recipe!!!

  2. Pingback: “The Stella get your groove back” glowing green smoothie | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

