Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies–Yummy!!!!

Yes, I am supposed to be monitoring my wheat and sugar to see if it could help me with the congestion issues I have, but that is a self-diagnosis. I decided that before I give up or modify all that yummy goodness, I would go to see an expert. So later this month I have an appointment with a holistic doctor…I will let you know how that goes.

But for right now, I was craving sugary goodness last night and decided to make some chocolate chip oatmeal cookies that I saw on this blog called the “bakingsheet”. 

Here is the recipe straight from the blog (with my slight modifications in pink):

Oatmeal Chocolate Chip Cookies
(from The Frog Commissary Cookbook)

1 cup butter, room temperature
1 cup sugar(I use the sugar cane sugar, not white)
1 cup brown sugar
2 large eggs
2 tbsp milk( I used rice milk instead of regular milk)
2 tsp vanilla extract
2 cups all-purpose flour
1 tsp baking soda
1 tsp baking powder
1 tsp salt(I used 1/2 tsp instead. Otherwise they are too salty)
2 1/2 cups oats (rolled or “quick,” but not “instant”)
2 cups chocolate chips (about 12-oz.)

Preheat the oven to 350F. Line a baking sheet with parchment paper (I used wax paper and it worked out fine).
In a large bowl, cream together the butter and the sugars until mixture is light in color. Beat in the eggs one at a time, followed by the milk and the vanilla extract.
In a medium bowl, stir together the flour, baking soda, baking powder and salt. Either by hand or with the mixer on low-speed, gradually beat the flour in to the sugar mixture until just incorporated.
Stir in the oats and chocolate chips by hand.
Drop 1-inch balls of dough onto the cookie sheet, placing about 1 1/2 inches apart so they have room to spread.
Bake at 350F for 10-13 minutes, until golden brown at the edges and light golden at the center.
Cool on baking sheet for at least 1-2 minutes before transferring to a wire rack to cool completely.

Makes 4 dozen.

You can also freeze the dough by wrapping it with saran wrap or placing it in a container and thawing it out when you want to make more.

  

  

  

  

 

  

This entry was posted in cookies, do it yourself, happiness, martha stewart eat your heart out. Bookmark the permalink.

2 Responses to Chocolate Chip Oatmeal Cookies–Yummy!!!!

  1. J says:

    THose cookies look amazing and apparently you are very good at what you do because those cookies look to be in perfect proportion with each other! Kudos on a beautiful set of cookies! When I come visit, I am expecting to have some yummy cookies made for me! Also, keep in mind that there are a lot of gluten free recipes out there that will allow for you to have your favorite baked goods without worrying about gluten! Check out these blogs: http://glutenfreegoddess.blogspot.com ; http://www.elanaspantry.com/ ; http://www.glutenfreecookingschool.com/

    I’m gonna find some cool stuff to make since a friend of mine has celiac disease and I want to make a treat for her some day!

  2. brandnewphd says:

    thanks for the gluten free sites! I will have to check them out. And you know I will make you cookies if you come to visit. I could make you a carrot cake as well:)

Leave a Reply

