Searching the past

While staring blankly out of my window, I had a brilliant idea pop up in my head–research my roots. I immediately called my grandmother and told her about my plan and she agreed to help provided she didn’t have to do any writing. I have been lucky; I grew up with my great-grandmother in my life. she didn’t pass away until I was 26. Unfortunately, I did not get that many stories from her, so now I will have to relie on my grandmother. Today I learned about my great-great grandparents on both sides as well as learning why my great-grandmother moved from VA to NY in the 1950’s. I am really excited about this new project that I will work on little by little. It is really important that we keep the oral tradition alive. If I have children or not, I want my family’s history to be passed down from generation to generation. I may not be able to learn my full family tree, but I will do my best to learn as much as I can in the future.

This entry was posted in Uncategorized. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

