May 28 and 29, 2010

orginal end table

End of the work week exhaustion caused me to miss blogging yesterday, so I decided to combine today’s entry with yesterday.

May 28, 2010: Last day of the work week was a blast. The Director of my office took us all out for ice cream and then he also let us leave work 1/2 hour early. That was wonderful! I was able to head out to the outlets and pick up some shirts from J.Crew as well as stop at home depot and pick up the paint and other accessories I needed for my end table project. Then I came home, had a california pizza kitchen pizza (bbq chicken) and then passed out with a smile on my face:)

May 29, 2010

Today I awoke to the sound of hammering outside. I was quite annoyed as I had wanted to sleep past 9am. But I got up and opened the windows to let the fresh air in. Afterwards, I made pancakes from scratch, turkey bacon, and a large cup of tea. Then I proceeded to work on my “do it yourself project”. First I sanded the end table with 100 grade sandpaper, then I primed the whole piece with an oil based primer. After the primer dried, I painted the end table an oatmeal color and let it dry and then added on the final coat. Finally, after the paint dried, I added a layer of polyurethane, which will protect my piece from water damage. I even got my end table a new knob.  Today was definitely productive. I was able to wash my hair and clean my bathroom as well. Now, If I can only figure out what I want for dinner.

primed end table

 

finished project

This entry was posted in being present, giving thanks, happiness. Bookmark the permalink.

6 Responses to May 28 and 29, 2010

  1. J says:

    Wow! That end table looks great! You have inspired me to go look for something to “re-purpose”. Excellent job!

  2. Pingback: Redesigning My Bedroom | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  3. Pingback: Redesigning my bedroom, part 2 | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  4. Pingback: Redesigning my bedroom- chapter 3 | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  5. Pingback: The Cheval Mirror | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

  6. Pingback: One man’s garbage…. | Fashionably Cosmopolitan

Leave a Reply

