May 7, 2010 TGIF

Friday.

The day that most of us look forward to. Well, at least those that work 40 hours a week Monday thru Friday. Today was a really insightful day. I talked with the Dean of Student Affairs and he told me how he got to where he is now. I really like listening to older people and lessons that they have learned along the way. It is really helpful when one is trying to figure out what they want to be when they grow up. I am kind of at a crossroads in my career. I have taken the step to leave the bench, but I don’t want to give up science and public health. I am trying to find a way how to do that and it is sort of stressing me out. Luckily, I had a chance to talk to a good friend whom I will call D. He reminded me that we are all still trying to figure out who we are and that we are like “fine wine”; we get better as we age. That really made me stop and think about my journey through life–especially my career path. I know that another of my good friends, E has told me constantly that there are no mistakes, but the ambling path that I am currently on is kind of stressful. However, I was able to pull myself back from stressing and just remember this… I have choices and that is better than having none at all.

This entry was posted in giving thanks, journey. Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

