May 4, 2010

Today it was a little hard to stay in the moment. I learned this afternoon that I have to modify my diet for 5 days prior to this medical procedure I must have. I was kinda sad about that because I had planned meals for the rest of the week and now I can not make them because they all contain foods that I can not eat. However, while I was on the way to the grocery store, I thought about how it is great that I can afford to go to the grocery store to pick up the foods that I need to eat to prepare for the procedure. I became thankful that I had some wiggle room in my budget for the unexpected expense.  In addition, I became thankful for having medical insurance.

There are so many things that we take for granted everyday: the ability to walk, talk, hear, pay bills, go to work, etc. But what if we were missing those things? When I lost the ability to hear out of one of my ears, I immediately became more aware of my surroundings. Now I have difficulty distinguishing voices in crowds and can not hear someone if they talk on my right side. But I am thankful that I can still hear out of my left ear and I am very appreciative of the sounds and noises that I get to recognize day by day. The bottom line is this: to be in the moment is to truly appreciate the unexpected.

This entry was posted in giving thanks, happiness, medical procedures and tagged , . Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to May 4, 2010

  1. Jade says:

    Amen to that! I need to remember to not focus on the negative aspects of each unexpected event that enters my world. Thanks for this reminder!

Leave a Reply

