Eat Italian, but healthy: zucchini noodles with shrimp and goat cheese

It all started with a dream. After perusing various healthy and raw food websites, I started to dream about this kitchen gadget:

What is it you may ask? Well my friend it is a vegetable spiralizer.  It has the ability to make veggie noodles. More importantly(at least in my case) zucchini noodles that can substitute regular pasta noodles in dishes. I was so excited a month ago when I saw a living social coupon that offered one of these babies up for less than $30. Being the barginista that I am, I jumped on it. A couple of weeks later, it was waiting for me on my doorstep ready to be used.

Alas, I didn’t use it right away because I couldn’t decide on what vegetable recipe to use it first on. I kept envisioning my summer filled with lots of fruits and veggies that I would get from the farmer’s markets in Baltimore and the loads of raw zucchini noodles I would make and prepare in various ways.

But this weekend, I finally took it out the box to make a dish that called for zucchini noodles and shrimp that I found on a website called, “Cara’s Cravings.”

The noodles were so fun to make. I was surprised at the amount of noodles that I got out of one zucchini:

Don’t they look good???? I think veggie noodles are a fun and sly way to get more veggies into your system. I definitely will be making lots of noodles this summer and incorporating them into cooked and raw dishes…plotting as I type…lol

Anywho, I am digressing again. Back to the dish. Hands down, it was so delicious and easy to make! I would definitely recommend you do all the prep work up front because things tend to move at a faster pace once you start cooking.  Here’s my results:

Can I say, YUM!!!! I think my pinch of red pepper flakes was more like a large shake (as my dish was kinda spicy), but you can moderate the heat based on your level of tolerance. Hands down the best faux pasta dish I have ever made. Yes, it is the first, but who’s counting. I loved the way the flavors melded together. The goat cheese gave it an extra umph! Definitely will be making this again!!!

*quick side note: if you don’t want to get the spiralizer, you can also use a grater, a zester, or cut the zucchini into matchstick thin pieces to make the noodles. But I definitely think it is a great addition to the kitchen. And I bet you can find one under $50. What about you guys? Any crazy kitchen appliances? Anyone else own a spiralizer?

Here’s the recipe:

Zucchini Noodles with Shrimp & Goat Cheese

1 tsp olive oil
1 small onion, thinly sliced (I used a shallot because it was all I had in the house)
2 cloves minced garlic
12 oz raw shrimp, thawed, peeled, deveined
freshly ground salt & pepper
14oz can diced tomatoes
pinch of crushed red pepper
1 tsp chopped fresh basil
400gm grated zucchini (from about 3-4 zucchini)*
2 oz goat cheese

Heat the olive oil over medium heat in a large skillet. Add the onions and saute for about 5 minutes, until softened. Add the shrimp and garlic. Cook the shrimp for about 1 minute on each side, until just opaque. Remove the shrimp from the pan. Add the tomatoes, crushed red pepper, and basil. Bring to a boil then reduce to a simmer and cook for about 5 minutes. Add the zucchini and saute over medium heat until slightly softened, about 3 minutes, then add the shrimp and heat through, about 1-2 minutes more. Serve with crumbled goat cheese.

Nutritional Info
Servings Per Recipe: 2
Amount Per Serving
Calories: 390.1
Total Fat: 13.7 g
Cholesterol: 268.0 mg
Sodium: 517.1 mg
Total Carbs: 24.1 g
Dietary Fiber: 7.0 g
Protein: 43.4 g

(You can also click here to view it on the website)

This entry was posted in being present, cooking, health, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes and tagged , , , , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

