Thanh Long inspired garlic noodles

When I was in San Francisco with L last summer, he went on and on about this restaurant that he had to take me to that had the best crab and garlic noodles. So after we took a drive around the city we stopped there to eat before heading up to twin peaks.  The name of the restaurant was Thanh Long and L was right, the crab and noodles were excellent! Here I am about to tear the crab up (the garlic noodles are to the side):

The crab was fantastic! Today, I was craving some comfort food and it made me recall a conversation that I had with L on Sunday. He told me that he had successfully reproduced the garlic noodles and that his classmates loved them. So today, while I was watching the snow fall, I decided to recreate them as well and looked up a recipe for the noodles. I definitely had to improvise a little, but the end result was very tasty. I think the only thing I would change is the quantity of garlic salt added. Next time, I will reduce it by one tablespoon because I felt that they were a little too salty for my taste. In addition, I added some fresh broccoli crowns, leeks and some frozen shrimp and served the dish with a glass of Riesling. It was fantastic and  I feel better already:

Crustacean-inspired Garlic Noodles Recipe

Ingredients:

1 lb fresh noodles (I used rice spaghetti noodles)
4 tablespoons olive oil
3 cloves garlic (pounded)
4 tablespoons unsalted butter ( I used earth balance, which is a vegan butter…its all I had in my house…lol)
2 tablespoons garlic powder
2 1/2 teaspoons chicken bouillon powder
2 1/2 teaspoons oyster sauce (I used fish sauce instead)
5 teaspoons grated parmesan cheese (I didn’t have grated parmesan, so I omitted this step)

Method:

Rinse the noodles with cold water and set aside. Heat up a pot of water and let it boil. Boil the noodles in the hot water until they are done, drain the water, and set aside to cool down the noodles.

In a pan, saute the garlic with the olive oil in medium heat. The purpose is to infuse the olive oil with garlicky flavor. Discard the garlic and then add in 4 tablespoons of butter and turn the heat to low. Add in the chicken bouillon powder, garlic powder, oyster sauce and blend well. Then I added the broccoli, leeks and frozen shrimp. Set aside to let it cool.

Once the garlic mixture is cool and the noodles are cool at room temperature, pour the garlic mixture over the noodles and toss them together to blend well. Add in the grated parmesan cheese, toss well, and serve immediately.

This entry was posted in cooking, food, martha stewart eat your heart out, recipes, restaurant reviews and tagged , , . Bookmark the permalink.

Leave a Reply

